Pigeon Industria

Pigeon Industria-by Douglas Thompson-200714As part of my on-going project of going mad in a good way, I unexpectedly took up art this weekend for the first time in nearly 30 years. Here is one of the results. “Pigeon Industria”, a homage to Glasgow’s atmospheric post-industrial landscape, hence the chimney and cogwheel forms. The palette emulates the wonderful colours found in the feathers of the dear birds themselves. I’d love to paint this on a canvas, maybe add textures of feathers and skin to some panels. Or better still paint it as a huge mural on the wall of a café, restaurant or bohemian design studio. Anyone out there got a nice big blank wall they want to fill? I suppose there’s almost something religious in this, like stained glass church windows. But I’m not religious… other than a spiritual follower of my own philosophy, which is that Gaia, a feminine earth deity, created us and continues to drive the engine of all life. The intersecting lines and curves express that unity and interconnectedness.

This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, History, News, Psychology, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment