My Face

DT-May 2014
MY FACE

I have never been vain so tell me
what is this all about? How I climb to the attic
each morning to re-photograph my face
under the skylight and the turbulent rain
of clouds and milk-white light
as if re-mapping changing territory
satellite reconnaissance of the mind
amid the lines and creases a war is fought
every night my soul hanging in the balance
each new day a field of slaughter to be paced
I am an enigma to myself a maelstrom
of tempestuous flesh and neurons firing
with the devastating impact of unruly guns
there are past actions, motives to be unravelled
demons to be hunted in those black eyes
like swirling pools that swallow up the sun
lovers drowning, lurking monsters
to be faced down or out-run.

This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Poetry, Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

