Postcard From The Future No.3


It’s May. Another month, and time for another one in my series of 1000-word Postcards From The Future, over at the Elsewhen Press website. Check it out, an easy five minute read. This one even features a poem on the end…
And on that subject, the very talented Brendan Connell has posted videos to YouTube of two song lyrics of mine, put to music of his own with some very arresting visual images thrown in. By popular request, here are the lyrics reproduced, for The Child Inside and Nuclear Shower

The Child Inside

When snow begins falling, something happens inside
my childhood friends call me to sledge and to slide
When waves begin breaking on the long summer beach
I feel the tide taking my past beyond reach
Remember the footprints of those that are lost
But what of survival? What of that cost?

Tell me if you dare, if you care
Tell me where is the cost of the innocence we bury and hide
And who mourns the death of the child inside?

This conspiracy of atoms maintaining our state
The monstrous indifference of God to our fate
The scale of the universe hurting our pride
Just its emptiness answering this fullness inside
Is the dust of our essence lost in the abyss?
Or is love vaster even than this?

Tell me if you dare, if you care
Tell me where are we lost in this empty abyss?
Or could love be vaster even than this?

Lying and stealing, taking friends for a ride
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside
Selling our bodies, our souls and our pride
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside
An eye for an eye robbing all of us blind
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside
Raping our world, wasting all that we find
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside
A look through the telescope confirming our fear
The end of the universe not even near
Where is our father to punish and chide?
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside
The oceans returning a terrible tide
Let us mourn for the death of the child inside.

Nuclear Shower

Nuclear power shower
Certified safe
Isotopes I hope
All over my face

Rain it down in my hair
Hot and glow in the dark
I’ll be safe and be seen
When I walk in the park

Personal hygiene
Without pain or tears
A facial that’s glacial
For a few million years

Serve it up with my sweet
My steak and my chips
My black forest gateau
Yellowcake UF6

One more slice now?
To hell with your girth!
Your rumbling stomach
And mutated birth

My plutonium pudding
If not weapons grade
Can be applied to the scalp
As a handy pomade

I’m the perfect consumer
Believe all that I’m told
My Three Mile Chernobyl
Will never grow cold

I rest easy at night
Knowing everything’s fine
Knowing Uncle Sam’s hotrods
Are suspended in brine

The future’s a present
We just have to take
Human error is something
Our people don’t make.

This entry was posted in Art, Music, News, Poetry, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

